CarRentalZA

Mileage and duration

Rent to own cars in South Africa: how it works and what it costs

By CarRentalZA editorial team · 9 min read · Updated 29 September 2026

New car keys handover - Rent to own cars in South Africa: how it works and what it costs
How rent to own cars work in South Africa, what low monthly prices and no deposit really mean, the National Credit Act dispute, and how to vet a provider.

Rent to own cars in South Africa are long-term rentals that end in ownership: you pay a monthly rental, and once you have made the payments the contract sets, the car becomes yours. The providers whose own pages we read put that point anywhere from 24 to 60 months, depending on the provider and the product.

The low prices people search for are the weak spot. Searches for rent to own cars under R3,000, R2,500 or R4,000 a month, or with no deposit, run ahead of what we found. Among providers that show a car, a price and terms, the lowest monthly figure was R5,399, for a used SA Motor Lease car on the day we checked (29 September 2026). No provider showed a true no deposit offer: where the deposit is waived, an upfront fee is charged instead. The one lower figure we found is an enquiry line with no terms, covered below.

Rent to own is also legally contested. Providers call it a rental, not a credit agreement, and that decides whether the National Credit Act protects you. This guide sets out both sides, what happens if you miss a payment, and how to check a provider before you pay anything.

How rent to own works

You choose a car from the provider's stock, pay an upfront fee, then pay a monthly rental for the whole term. At the end you own the car, provided the contract's conditions have been met. What differs between providers is the term, the ownership step and what the rental includes.

ProviderTermHow you take ownership
SA Motor Lease48, 54 or 60 on-time paymentsYou buy the car for R100
MadRent24 or 36 monthsThe contract ends with a settle-the-value (balloon) purchase
WeFinCarRentals48 monthsOwnership after 48 months, with no final payment
Motor Lease SAUsually 36 to 72 monthsYou own the car at the end of the term

Pace Car Rental does not run rent to own itself. It connects customers to its affiliate, SA Motor Lease. Pace's own guide says these contracts can run 12 to 54 months but are generally 48 months, with a down payment plus a monthly rental.

SA Motor Lease says its monthly rental covers insurance waivers, vehicle tracking and annual licensing, and that routine maintenance is the customer's job. Vantage Debt Management, an NCR-registered debt counsellor, says these contracts typically run 48 to 60 months and bundle insurance, licensing and tracking. SA Motor Lease's terms say the car carries a driver-behaviour tracking device, and that data can decide who pays for damage.

What the low prices and no deposit offers really mean

We checked the providers' own pages on 29 September 2026. This is what the two most searched claims come to.

What people search forWhat the evidence showed
Under R3,000 or R2,500 a monthNo provider page that shows a car, a price and terms had a monthly amount under R5,399. MotoRent, a small Cape Town operator, says "long-term rent to own options from only R2 999 per month" as an enquiry line, with no car, term or ownership terms published.
Under R4,000 a monthSame result. Nothing we could verify.
The cheapest listed carSA Motor Lease showed a 2022 Suzuki Swift 1.2 GA at R5,399 a month. That is one day's used stock, and stock changes.
MadRent's starting priceMadRent says "Nationwide, from R6,395 per month".
No depositMadRent says no deposit, but charges a once-off, non-refundable start-up fee from around R20,000, depending on the vehicle. SA Motor Lease asks for an initiation fee and the first pro-rata rental before collection, and the amount is not published on the pages we read. WeFinCarRentals says the first payment is the first month's rent plus a security deposit.

Lower figures appear in search snippets from aggregators and classified listings. We could not verify them, so we do not quote them.

So "no deposit" is marketing wording. Money still leaves your account before you drive away, and in MadRent's case it is not refundable. An older IOL report from 2017 found deposits often above R10,000, or two months' instalments. Treat that as a dated benchmark, not a current price.

Is rent to own covered by the National Credit Act?

The evidence does not settle this, so here are both sides.

The providers' side. SA Motor Lease says "Rent to buy is NOT a credit agreement". Cars.co.za reported on 1 April 2026 that these deals are designated a rental rather than vehicle finance, so the National Credit Act does not govern them and the credit and affordability checks the Act requires do not have to happen. Pace describes rent to buy as a structured rental agreement instead of finance.

The other side. In 2017 a legal adviser at the Credit Ombud told IOL that, without seeing specific contracts, it was unclear whether these agreements fall under the National Credit Act or the Consumer Protection Act. That is an old and informal comment, but we found no newer statement to replace it. We also found no National Credit Regulator or National Consumer Commission page on rent to own vehicles. Motor Lease SA says all its finance and leasing options adhere to the National Credit Act. ClearFuture buys a car for you under the normal National Credit Act affordability rules, which is finance, not pure rental.

Why it matters. A debt-help firm, Debt Solutions 4U, says that where the Act does not apply there are no regulated interest rate caps, no cooling-off right and limited recourse if the company acts unfairly. It also says rent to own is allowed during debt review because it is not classed as credit. The Credit Ombud adviser said that under the Act a credit provider may repossess only with a court order.

Look in your contract for the words "rental" or "credit agreement", and ask the provider in writing which one it is.

Income requirements and credit checks

Rent to own is sold to people who struggle to get bank finance, but the providers still set income floors.

ProviderIncome requirementCredit checks
SA Motor LeaseNet (take-home) pay of R17,000 or more a month. Joint applications with a spouse are combined.Markets "no credit checks", but its terms allow checks with TransUnion.
MadRentMinimum net salary of R18,000Not stated on the page we read
WheelWishThe application form rejects a net monthly income below 35000 (the unit is not shown, presumably rand).Says it welcomes low credit scores and blacklisted individuals
Pace Car RentalNot statedSays approval is based more on affordability than your credit score

Read "blacklisted" offers carefully. SA Motor Lease and Pace say they help blacklisted or under-debt-review applicants, yet SA Motor Lease asks for R17,000 net a month and its terms allow a TransUnion check. A rent to own offer for blacklisted buyers is not one with no conditions.

Rent to own in Johannesburg

SA Motor Lease lists Gauteng branches in Sandton, Kempton Park, Roodepoort and Pretoria on its rent to buy menu, alongside Cape Town, Salt River, uMhlanga, Gqeberha, East London and George. MadRent says it works nationwide. Stock, prices and fees are set per provider and per branch, so ask each one for a written quote for the car you want.

The questions in the last section apply wherever you buy. A Johannesburg address does not change the contract.

What happens if you miss a payment

This is where rent to own differs most from ordinary vehicle finance. What follows are warnings from commentators and clauses in provider terms, not a description of every contract.

  • Cars.co.za warns that because the Act's protection against repossession does not apply, missing a single payment can lead to the car being repossessed with immediate effect.
  • Vantage Debt Management says missed payments can mean repossession and the loss of all prior payments.
  • IOL reported in 2017 that the car would probably be repossessed within a week and the deposit forfeited. The Credit Ombud adviser said that a seven-day repossession would not fit the court order process required under the Act.
  • SA Motor Lease's terms say it has the right to terminate the rental at any stage.
  • MadRent lets you cancel at any time, but any amounts already paid are non-refundable.

Ask for the answer to one late payment in writing. Is there a grace period? Is there a notice before the car is collected? Is anything refunded if the contract ends early?

How ownership transfers

You own the car only when the last condition in the contract is met. Find out exactly what that is.

  • SA Motor Lease: after 48, 54 or 60 on-time payments you can buy the car for R100. Ask what counts as on time, and whether one late payment blocks the purchase.
  • MadRent: the contract ends with a balloon payment to settle the value of the car. You need that money, or a way to finance it, at month 24 or 36.
  • WeFinCarRentals: ownership after 48 months with no final payment.

Cars.co.za also warns that the effective interest rate is very high and that a buyer may pay multiple times the purchase price. IOL noted that some insurance bundled into these deals is so basic that it does not include third-party cover. Ask for the policy wording, and ask who the registered owner is until the last payment.

Before you sign, ask for the total you will pay over the full term, including the upfront fee and any final payment, and compare it with the cash price of the same car.

How to check a provider before you pay

  1. Get the full contract before you pay anything, and check whether it says rental or credit agreement.
  2. Ask for every upfront amount in rand, and whether each is refundable. "No deposit" and a non-refundable start-up fee can both be true.
  3. Ask for the total over the whole term, and compare it with the car's cash price.
  4. Ask what happens after one missed payment, and what you get back if the provider ends the contract.
  5. Ask what the bundled insurance covers, third-party cover included, and read the policy.
  6. Ask who pays for maintenance and what the tracking device records and who sees it.
  7. Ask whether a credit check is done, and by whom.
  8. Compare the offer with a monthly rental, a lease or a subscription, all covered in our guide to car leasing and subscription.

Prices and stock on provider pages change, and everything here was checked on 29 September 2026. Confirm the current terms with the provider.

Frequently asked questions

What is rent to own for cars in South Africa?

It is a long-term rental that ends in ownership. You pay an upfront fee and a monthly rental, and once you have made the payments the contract sets, you can take ownership. The term, the ownership step and what the rental includes differ by provider. Providers call it a rental, not a credit agreement.

Can I get rent to own cars with no deposit?

Not in the offers we could verify. MadRent says no deposit, but charges a once-off, non-refundable start-up fee from around R20,000. SA Motor Lease charges an initiation fee and the first pro-rata rental before collection. Treat no deposit as marketing wording and ask for every upfront amount in rand.

Are there rent to own cars under R3,000 a month, or R2,500 a month?

We could not verify one. Among providers that show a car, a price and terms, the lowest monthly figure was R5,399 for a used SA Motor Lease car on 29 September 2026. MotoRent says it has rent to own options from R2,999 a month, but publishes no car, term or terms, so ask it for a written quote before you rely on it.

Are there rent to own cars under R4,000 a month?

None that we could verify with a car and terms attached. The lowest we found was R5,399 a month at SA Motor Lease, and MadRent says its rentals start from R6,395. Both are one-day snapshots and change with stock.

Can I get rent to own cars in Johannesburg?

Yes, through providers that work nationally. SA Motor Lease lists branches in Sandton, Kempton Park, Roodepoort and Pretoria, and MadRent says it works nationwide. Get a written quote for the exact car from more than one provider.

Can I get rent to own with no deposit if I am blacklisted?

Some providers say they help blacklisted applicants, but they still have conditions. SA Motor Lease asks for net income of R17,000 or more and its terms allow a TransUnion credit check. MadRent asks for a minimum net salary of R18,000 and charges a start-up fee. No deposit and blacklisted together is not a route without cost.

Does the National Credit Act cover rent to own?

It is contested. Providers such as SA Motor Lease say rent to buy is not a credit agreement, and Cars.co.za reported in April 2026 that it is designated a rental. A Credit Ombud adviser said in 2017 that it was unclear whether the National Credit Act or the Consumer Protection Act applies. One provider, Motor Lease SA, says its products adhere to the Act. Ask the provider in writing which applies to your contract.

What happens if I miss a rent to own payment?

Commentators warn that the car can be repossessed quickly and that you can lose what you have paid, because the National Credit Act's court order protection may not apply. SA Motor Lease's terms let it end the rental at any stage. Ask for the provider's answer to one late payment in writing before you sign.

When do I own the car?

Only when the contract's last condition is met. At SA Motor Lease that is after 48, 54 or 60 on-time payments, when you can buy the car for R100. At MadRent it is a balloon payment after 24 or 36 months. WeFinCarRentals says ownership follows 48 months with no final payment.