Rental company reviews
U-Save car and van rental in South Africa
By CarRentalZA editorial team · 10 min read · Updated 29 September 2026

- Website
- usave.com
- Airport desks
- Cape Town International, Chief Dawid Stuurman International (Gqeberha), Durban King Shaka International, East London, George, Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International, Lanseria International, Mthatha
- Brand type
- U-Save International LLC (Madison, Mississippi, USA) licenses the U-Save brand worldwide; every South African location is run by an independent franchisee under a franchise agreement, and franchisee details are given only on written request
- Where to book
- usave.com/south-africa, not a local .co.za domain
- Not related to
- Usave, the South African grocery chain, which is a different business entirely
- Fleet
- Compact and luxury cars, standard SUVs, mini vans, pickup trucks and Sprinter vans (as shown at Cape Town airport)
- Best for
- Van and pickup hire, and renters who want a choice of airports and city locations
- What is not published
- South African phone numbers, minimum age, deposit, debit card, cross-border and one-way rules; each franchisee sets its own terms
U-Save Car and Van Rental is an international franchise brand with a South African presence. Its South African locations are listed at usave.com/south-africa rather than at a local domain, and the fleet includes vans, pickup trucks and Sprinter vans as well as cars.
Be aware of what the site does not tell you. It publishes no South African phone number, email, minimum age, deposit, debit card, cross-border or one-way rule, because each location is run by an independent franchisee. This page says so plainly rather than guessing, and lists what to ask.
One point of confusion worth clearing up first. U-Save the rental brand has nothing to do with Usave the South African grocery chain. If you land on a supermarket site, you are in the wrong place. We are an independent information site and take no bookings.
What U-Save is, and what it is not
U-Save Car and Van Rental is a franchise brand that licenses its name to independent operators. In South Africa its locations are listed under usave.com/south-africa.
It is not connected to Usave, the discount grocery chain trading under the Shoprite group in South Africa. The names collide and the search results collide with them, so use the usave.com address when you are looking for a rental car rather than a tin of beans.
What to know about U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa in 2026
- U-Save's South Africa page lists 16 locations: Cape Town International Airport, Century City, Chief Dawid Stuurman International Airport, Durban King Shaka, East London Airport, East London Downtown, George Airport, OR Tambo, Lanseria, Milnerton Downtown, Mthatha Airport, Port Elizabeth Downtown, Pretoria Downtown, Rhodesfield Downtown, Sandton Downtown and Umhlanga Downtown (Milnerton has no booking link). (usave.com)
- Fleet types shown at Cape Town airport: luxury car, compact, mini van, standard SUV, pickup truck and Sprinter van. (usave.com)
- Every location is franchised, so deposit, excess and age rules are set per franchisee. (usave.com)
- usave.com/south-africa is the official South African entry point on the global U-Save site (the page header shows US and UK phone lines only). (usave.com)
U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa contact numbers and booking
Checked on 29 September 2026 against U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa's official website. Numbers change, so confirm on the linked page before you call. A rental company will not ask you to pay a deposit into a new bank account by phone or WhatsApp; if anyone does, hang up and call the official number.
| What you need | How to reach U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa |
|---|---|
| Book online | usave.com |
| Loyalty programme | U-Save & Share: Previous customers sign up and receive five 15% off codes (car rental cost only), valid 12 months, one per booking, at participating locations; the page's terms exclude only US locations, and South Africa is listed among destinations. |
U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa rental rules: age, cards, deposit and borders
What U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa's own terms and FAQ pages said on 29 September 2026. Rules differ by vehicle group and branch, so check the terms for your booking.
| Rule | What U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | No minimum age, young-driver surcharge, licence-held period, deposit, debit card, cross-border, one-way, mileage or fuel rule for South Africa is published on usave.com; the booking form defaults to 'Driver between 30 - 65' and terms are set by each franchisee. | usave.com |
| Foreign licence | An International Driving Permit is recommended (not stated as mandatory) if the licence is not in English. | usave.com |
| Also note | Documents to bring to a South African location: reservation information, driver's licence, passport and credit card; local renters need ID and address confirmation; self-insurers need verifiable proof of full coverage. | usave.com |
What the site does and does not tell you
The usave.com South African page is part of a global site run from the United States. The only phone numbers in its header are head office lines in the US and the UK, not South African numbers, so do not call them expecting a local branch. The branch address and phone blocks on the pages we read were empty. Use the booking form for the location you want, and ask that location for its own contact details in writing.
The booking form defaults to "Driver between 30 - 65". That is a default setting on the form, not a published age limit, so do not read it as the rule. U-Save publishes no minimum age, young-driver surcharge, licence-held period, deposit, debit card, cross-border, one-way, mileage or fuel rule for South Africa. Terms are set by each franchisee.
What the site does say is what to bring: your reservation details, driver's licence, passport and a credit card. Local renters should also carry documents that confirm ID and address. If you are insuring the car yourself, bring verifiable proof of full coverage. An International Driving Permit is recommended, not stated as compulsory, if your licence is not in English.
Cars, vans and pickups
Vans are part of the brand's name, and the fleet types shown at Cape Town airport reflect that: luxury car, compact, mini van, standard SUV, pickup truck and Sprinter van. Other locations may show a different mix, so check the location page for the vehicle you need.
For a house move or a delivery run, price a van or pickup here against the commercial vehicles offered by the national brands. Check the licence class you need before you book, because larger commercial vehicles require more than a code B licence.
Where U-Save operates
U-Save's South African page lists 16 locations. The airports are Cape Town International, Gqeberha (Chief Dawid Stuurman), Durban King Shaka, East London, George, OR Tambo, Lanseria and Mthatha. The downtown sites are Century City, East London, Milnerton, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria, Rhodesfield, Sandton and Umhlanga.
Milnerton Downtown is listed without a booking link, so it may not be taking bookings. The site does not say whether an airport location has a desk in the terminal or collects by meet-and-greet, so ask the location how collection works and how much time to allow after landing.
What to nail down with a franchise operator
Every U-Save location is franchised, under a franchise agreement with U-Save International. Franchisee details are given only on written request. That makes the written answer the only one that counts. Before you pay, get these in writing from the location: the deposit hold in rand, the standard excess in rand and the cost of reducing it, the kilometre policy, the fuel policy, whether a debit card is accepted, minimum age and young-driver charges, and whether a one-way drop or a cross-border trip is possible.
Also ask what happens if you return the car outside office hours. That catches people out at smaller locations.
The site also promotes U-Save & Share, where previous customers receive five 15% off codes for the car rental cost only, valid for 12 months and one per booking, at participating locations. South Africa is listed among the destinations, but ask the location whether it takes part.
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum age to rent from U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa?
No minimum age, young-driver surcharge, licence-held period, deposit, debit card, cross-border, one-way, mileage or fuel rule for South Africa is published on usave.com; the booking form defaults to 'Driver between 30 - 65' and terms are set by each franchisee. (U-Save Car & Van Rental South Africa's published terms, checked 29 September 2026.)
What is the U-Save contact number in South Africa?
The usave.com South African page does not publish a South African phone number or email. The only numbers shown are US and UK head office lines. Contact the location you want through the booking form and ask for its details in writing.
Does U-Save accept debit cards?
The site does not say. It publishes no debit card rule for South Africa, and the list of documents to bring names a credit card. Ask your location before you rely on a debit card.
Is U-Save car rental the same as the Usave supermarket?
No. U-Save Car and Van Rental is an international vehicle rental franchise. Usave is a South African discount grocery chain and a completely separate business. For car hire use usave.com/south-africa.
Where does U-Save operate in South Africa?
U-Save lists 16 locations, including airports at Cape Town, Gqeberha, Durban King Shaka, East London, George, OR Tambo, Lanseria and Mthatha, and downtown sites such as Century City, Sandton, Pretoria, Rhodesfield and Umhlanga. Check the live list before booking.
Does U-Save rent vans and pickups?
Yes. The fleet types shown at Cape Town airport include a mini van, a pickup truck and a Sprinter van alongside cars and a standard SUV. Check the licence class required for the vehicle you want, because larger commercial vehicles need more than a code B licence.
Is U-Save a franchise?
Yes. Every South African location is run by an independent franchisee under a franchise agreement with U-Save International. Franchisees set their own deposit, excess and age terms, and franchisee details are given only on written request.
What deposit does U-Save take?
The site does not publish a deposit figure for South Africa. Each franchisee sets its own terms, so ask the location for the rand figure and the release timeline in writing before you pay anything.
Can I do a one-way rental with U-Save?
The site publishes no one-way rule for South Africa. Ask the location whether a one-way drop is possible on your route and what it costs, and price a national brand alongside.




